Beara Peninsula Heritage PhotoSite

Castletownbere, Beara, West Cork, Ireland. ©2020
Home > Days of Yore > GAA Teams

Most viewed - GAA Teams
Wolfe Tone team. Butte, Montana (1907)3044 viewsThese Gaelic Athletic Association members were: Front row on the grass, left to right, Mike O’Sullivan and John C. Murphy. Second row: John J. Sheehan, Pat O’ Sullivan, J.J. Lynch, captain, Pat Crowley, John (Pigeon) O’Shea, Mike Harrington. Third row: Mike Leahy, Torn Connell, Denis Holland, Denis Murphy, Tim Sheehan. Back row: James O’Sullivan, John O’Sullivan, Con O’Sullivan, Jer Sheehan, Con O’Sullivan (not to be confused with other Con O’Sullivan).
Every man was born in Beara and several went back there to live. J.J. Lynch (Ballycrovane) was later a district judge. The last game they played was in 1912.
Beara G.A.A2844 viewsBeara team 1960’s. Front row: Dickie Kelly, Gerard B. O’Sullivan, Deccie Wiseman, Kevin Jer O’Sullivan, Pierse Lyne, Bernie O’Neill, Cormac O’Sullivan, Mike Regan, Finbarr Harrington.
Back row: Sean Downey, John Downey, Connie Murphy,
Patrick Shea, Sean O’Sullivan, Joe O’Sullivan, Jimmy Downing, Eddie Jer O’Sullivan, John L. O’Sullivan, Paddy Eddie O’Sullivan.
Beara Technical School team 19521032 viewsFront row, L to R: Mr O’Dea. (Teacher), Seamus McMahon (Adrigole), Donal Kelly. (Garnish), Robbie O’Dwyer, (Ardgroorn), John Cronin, Castletownbere), Frankie Sullivan, (Castletownbere), Liam Lehane, (Urhan), Denis Mc Carthy, (Glenbeg), Miceal Walsh, (Headmaster).
Second row L to R: Owen O’Sullivan, (Bere Island), Peter Fitt, (Bere Island), Noel Buckley, (Filane), Michael Hanley, (Eyeries), M. Crowley, (Bere Island), Kieran Cotter, (Castletownhere), Dave Power, (Castletownbere), Jerry Mc Carthy, (Urhan).
Beara G.A.A. in London784 viewsLiam Lyne, Ger O’Sullivan, Pierse Lyne, Paddy (Eddie) O’Sullivan, Sean O’Sullivan, Jimmy Downing, Billy O’Sullivan, ? , Ted Lowney. Front row: Joe Power, Tony McLoughlin, Mike Hanley, John L O’Sullivan, Connie (Paddy) O’Sullivan, Myles O’Sullivan, Donal Holland, Dickie Kelly and Leonard O’Sullivan.
Sam Maguire Cup 1973639 viewsEnjoying the Cup in 1973. Back row: Billy Black, Shiela and Jackie Lynch, Joe Power, Ger O’Sullivan. Front row: Donie Harrington, Liam O’Dwyer and Donal Harrington.
Castletownbere G.A.A633 viewsCastletownbere G.A.A. team mid 1930’s from left to right:
John O’Sullivan, Jim Stack, Donal O’Shea, Tommy Brennan,
Ted Lowney, Johnny Sheehan, Donal O’Sullivan.
Back - Joe Hanley, Michael O’Brien, Joe Dudley,
John O’Brien, Jack Ruth, Danny O’Neill, Arthur Hanley,
Con Murphy, Paddy Crowley, Jim FitzGerald, Chris O’Shea,
Derry Murphy, Fergus O’Neill and
St. Marys601 viewsSt. Mary’s team 1964. Back Row: Ger Harrington, Mick O’Neill, ?, Bernard Harrington, Richard Dwyer, Tadg Harrington, ?, ?, ?, Jerome Harrington, Front Row: Paddy Houlihan, John Joe McCarthy, Sean Dwyer, Kieran Kelly, Denis Cadogan, Riobard Dwyer, Ted Mullins, ?.
Not exactly the G.A.A But....593 views1980 ‘Hatchet Men’ Soccer Team: back row: Kevin Sheehan, Colm Breen centre row: Liam Sheehan, Nicky McGuinness, Donal Sheehan, Donal Holland,Tony O’Shea, Junior Heffernan, Michael Heffernan
Front row: Danny Hurley, John O’Shea, (?)
Sam Maguire591 viewsFollowing Cork’s All-Ireland football win in 1973 the Sam Maguire Cup came to Beara and is pictured here on its way to Bere Island aboard the fishing vessel 'Kathleen Anne'
15 files on 2 page(s) 1


Here is text in the "anycontent" block.
Edit the file "anycontent.php" in your Coppermine folder to change what is shown here.
To show this block on your gallery, go to the configuration panel under "Album List View", then "content of the main page".

All photographs published on this PhotoSite are copyright of Beara Historical Society and the respective photographers. Heritage PhotoSite images may be copied and downloaded for private use only. None of the material on this site may be copied for commercial use without written permission from the Society.